Land Acknowledgement

Town of Banff

Photo credit: Travel Alberta

In the spirit of respect, reciprocity, and truth, we honour and acknowledge that the townsite of Banff is located on traditional Treaty 7 territory. These sacred lands are a gathering place for the Niitsitapi from the Blackfoot Confederacy, of whom the  Siksika, Kainai, and Piikani First Nations are part; the Îyârhe Nakoda of the Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Goodstoney First Nations; the Tsuut’ina First Nation; the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region III within the historical Northwest Métis Homeland, and many others whose histories, languages, and cultures continue to enrich our vibrant community.

The Bow Valley has also long been important to the Ktunaxa and Secwépemc First Nations who traditionally occupied lands and used the watersheds of the Columbia and Kootenay Rivers and the eastern slopes of the Rockies. The area was also used by the Mountain Cree clan of Chief Peechee, and the Dene of the far north and far south. 

The Town of Banff is continuously learning about the rich and complex histories of Indigenous peoples in this region and is working to refine how the organization can better understand and acknowledge Indigenous peoples that have and continue to contribute to the area. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on, or are visiting and acknowledge the many First Nations and Métis who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations.

Learn more about the rich history and shared future involving Indigenous Peoples in Banff