Go To Search
FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTubePinterest
Activities and EventsCommunityTown HallServicesI Want To...
2014 Summer Traffic Data
About this chart
The Town is collecting data to determine solutions to traffic flow problems during peak season.

Banff’s threshold for the onset of congestion is considered to be approximately 20,000 vehicles per day. The Town uses GPS data on travel times and compares it to an off-peak time (October 23, 2013), to give an approximate indication of the maximum delay due to traffic.

The Town's goal is to minimize delays during peak periods, to under 15 minutes.

 Date  Vehicles Per Day  Northbound Max Delay  Southbound Max Delay
 Saturday, June 28  23,109  0:10:13  0:06:49
 Sunday, June 29  24,321  0:21:05  0:07:59
 Monday, June 30  23,491  0:08:38  0:07:16
 Tuesday, July 1  25,475  Not available  Not available
 Wednesday, July 2  20,399  0:03:08  0:07:07
 Thursday, July 3  21,204  0:04:39  0:05:33
 Friday, July 4  22,067  0:04:54  0:04:03
 Saturday, July 5  24,066  0:08:05  0:08:11
 Sunday, July 6  23,018  0:06:00  0:09:39
 Monday, July 7  20,358  0:07:57  0:06:19
 Tuesday, July 8  20,893  0:05:36*  0:04:03*
 Wednesday, July 9  21,019  0:03:32*  0:02:12*
 Thursday, July 10  21,853  0:04:09  0:07:42
 Friday, July 11  22,330  0:04:18  0:06:01
 Saturday, July 12  25,425  0:06:26  0:12:46
 Sunday, July 13  23,258  0:10:13  0:07:03
 Monday, July 14  20,650  0:03:52  0:06:46
 Tuesday, July 15  20,520  0:05:35  0:04:12
 Wednesday, July 16  20,370  0:03:36  0:06:11
 Thursday, July 17  19,944  0:05:14  0:05:47
 Friday, July 18  22,169  0:04:24  0:04:53
 Saturday, July 19  24,850  0:37:03  0:07:42
 Sunday, July 20  23,490  0:05:10  0:08:12
 Monday, July 21  19,485  0:03:04  0:04:13
 Tuesday, July 22  19,713  0:05:20  0:04:56
 Wednesday, July 23  20,211  0:03:43  0:03:19
 Thursday, July 24  19,440  0:05:18  0:04:08
 Friday, July 25  20,949  0:08:10  0:03:40
 Saturday, July 26  26,220  0:10:09  0:11:11
 Sunday, July 27  25,899  0:15:37  0:08:23
 Monday, July 28  21,783  0:04:35  0:04:33
 Tuesday, July 29  21,181  0:03:40  0:05:06
 Wednesday, July 30  21,320  0:03:09  0:09:38
 Thursday, July 31  21,807  0:02:52  0:04:45
 Friday, August 1  23,962  0:03:01  0:04:41
 Saturday, August 2  29,195  0:28:07  0:15:07
 Sunday, August 3  30,677  1:38:00  0:17:45
 Monday, August 4   25,842  0:23:20  0:11:30
 Tuesday, August 5  22,727  0:05:39  0:03:49
 Wednesday, August 6  23,067  0:07:16  0:06:01
 Thursday, August 7  22,857  0:04:29  0:07:30
 Friday, August 8  23,567  0:10:36  0:06:19
 Saturday, August 9  26,561  0:12:22  0:17:50
 Sunday, August 10  26,338  0:18:17  0:06:03
 Monday, August 11  22,509  0:09:36  0:07:45
 Tuesday, August 12  21,382  0:03:50  0:04:59
 Wednesday, August 13  21,655  0:04:15  0:06:14
 Thursday, August 14  20,667  0:03:30  0:04:54
 Friday, August 15  22,813  0:08:39  0:04:59
 Saturday, August 16  24,876  0:17:35  0:14:11
 Sunday, August 17  23,643  0:11:31  0:06:52
 Monday, August 18  22,406  0:05:22  0:08:03
 Tuesday, August 19  20,781  0:05:34  0:04:30
 Wednesday, August 20  19,839  0:04:01  0:04:41
 Thursday, August 21  19,221  0:06:28  0:03:54
 Friday, August 22  21,835  0:04:59  0:04:21
 Saturday, August 23  25,052  0:15:08  0:12:25
 Sunday, August 24  23,356  0:12:01  0:07:44
 Monday, August 25  19,722  0:04:05  0:06:50
 Tuesday, August 26  20,015  0:05:23  0:04:17
 Wednesday, August 27  20,679  0:04:48  0:04:33
 Thursday, August 28  19,545  0:03:25  0:04:07
 Friday, August 29  22,204  0:04:30  0:08:16
 Saturday, August 30  26,463  0:30:48  0:12:02
 Sunday, August 31  28,697  0:51:43  0:15:59
 Monday, September 1  23,261  Not available  Not available
 Tuesday, September 2  15,628  0:05:55  0:03:27
 Wednesday, September 3  14,715  0:03:06  0:03:41
 Thursday, September 4  16,575  0:03:48  0:04:08
 Friday, September 5  10,516  0:02:30  0:04:27
 Saturday, September 6  23,589  0:03:21  0:06:48
 Sunday, September 7  21,452  0:06:42  0:04:53
 Monday, September 8  13,082  0:04:43  0:07:06
 Tuesday, September 9  13,061  0:05:11  0:06:22
 Wednesday, September 10  10,839  0:04:07  0:03:31
 Thursday, September 11  15,770  0:03:25  0:05:00
 Friday, September 12  16,445  0:02:30  0:04:07
 Saturday, September 13  18,865  0:05:50  0:06:49
 Sunday, September 14  18,371  0:04:38  0:05:34
 Monday, September 15  15,729  0:04:20  0:04:53
 Tuesday, September 16  15,447  0:02:42  0:04:30
 Wednesday, September 17  15,594  0:04:34  0:04:29
 Thursday, September 18  16,244  0:04:50  0:03:48
 Friday, September 19  18,299  0:02:21  0:03:16
 Saturday, September 20  22,271  0:10:27  0:11:01
 Sunday, September 21  22,320  0:06:12  0:05:06
 Monday, September 22  14,976  0:02:59  0:03:51
 Tuesday, September 23  13,853  0:06:36  0:03:28
 Wednesday, September 24  14,294  0:03:31  0:07:41
 Thursday, September 25  14,895  0:04:07  0:03:05
 Friday, September 26  17,465  0:04:12  0:04:29
 Saturday, September 27  20,236  0:08:22  0:03:32
 Sunday, September 28  18,527  0:04:41  0:02:28
 Monday, September 29  13,275  0:03:12  0:04:54
 Wednesday, October 1  13,129  0:03:49  0:03:55
 Thursday, October 2  13,479  0:04:01  0:02:47
 Friday, October 3  15,499  0:02:16  0:04:27
 Saturday, October 4  18,392  0:05:18  0:02:51
 Sunday, October 5  17,406  0:04:33  0:02:53
 Monday, October 6  12,442  0:05:32  0:02:20
 Tuesday, October 7  11,771  0:06:34  0:02:08
 Wednesday, October 8  12,178  0:03:16  0:02:04
 Thursday, October 9  12,718  0:02:04  0:01:35
 Friday, October 10  15,706  0:02:43  0:02:55
 Saturday, October 11  18,653  0:04:17  0:05:27
 Sunday, October 12  19,436  0:13:45  0:04:19
 Monday, October 13  16,703  0:10:43  0:02:19
 Tuesday, October 14  11,315  0:04:39  0:03:41
 Wednesday, October 15  10,500  0:03:35  0:01:27
 Thursday, October 16  11,495  0:05:19  0:01:53
 Friday, October 17  15,043  0:03:40  0:02:27
 Saturday, October 18  17,068  0:07:46  0:02:58
 Sunday, October 19  15,665  0:04:46  0:01:57
 Monday, October 20  11,331  0:03:24  0:01:37
 Tuesday, October 21  10,680  0:03:33  0:02:32
 Wednesday, October 22  10,416  0:10:51  0:01:22
 Thursday, October 23  10,217  0:03:08  0:06:04
 Friday, October 24  13,180  0:03:15  0:01:59
 Saturday, October 25  14,920  0:04:58  0:02:36
 Sunday, October 26  12,462  0:03:57  0:02:14
 Monday, October 27  9,975  0:02:17  0:02:48
 Tuesday, October 28  9,814  0:05:56  0:01:03
 Wednesday, October 29  9,582  0:05:56  0:01:47
 Thursday, October 30  9,843  0:03:57  0:01:09
 Friday, October 31  10,720  0:02:55  0:03:33

*Due to cell outage experienced on these days, data is limited and may only reflect half the day.


Vehicles Per Day: The vehicle per day count is the number of vehicles entering and exiting the townsite via Norquay Road and Banff Avenue over a 24 hour period.

Max Delay: The Town uses GPS data and compares it to an off-peak time (October 23, 2013), to give an approximate indication of the maximum delay due to traffic.

The town is exploring additional wireless methods to record travel times of both vehicles and pedestrians, which could eventually be communicated in real-time and provide a more accurate picture of congestion and traffic delays. Traffic webcams have been installed on key routes for the public to use to see current conditions. Traffic counters were permanently deployed in June 2013 at the two highway entrances to Banff as well to provide vehicle counts.

The Town implements a number of measures on each weekend to mitigate the high traffic volumes, including adjusting the timing of signal lights.

Traffic Volume Comparisons
Traffic volume in the town of Banff from June 28-30 was 25 per cent higher than the May 2014 long weekend or June 29-July 1 long weekend in 2013. Volume in town from August 2-4, 2014 was 7.5 per cent higher than August 1-3 2013. Volume for July 2014 was 12 per cent higher than July 2013.