Go To Search
FacebookTwitterInstagramYouTubePinterest
Activities and EventsCommunityTown HallServicesI Want To...
2017 Traffic Data
About this chart
The Town is collecting data to determine solutions to traffic flow problems during peak season. 

Banff’s threshold for the onset of congestion is considered to be approximately 24,000 vehicles per day. 

The Town's goal is to minimize delays during peak periods, to under 15 minutes. 


Date  Vehicles Per Day  Northbound Max Delay  Southbound Max Delay
 Sunday, January 1  14,436  0:03:02  0:04:26
 Monday, January 2  15,019  0:04:32
 0:00:57
 Tuesday, January 3  14,124  0:02:42
 0:02:40
 Wednesday, January 4  14,435  0:06:17
 0:04:53
 Thursday, January 5  14,533  0:02:24
 0:02:19
 Friday, January 6  14,460  0:03:54
 0:03:13
 Saturday, January 7  14,750  0:03:41
 0:01:44
 Sunday, January 8  12,466  0:03:13
 0:04:42
 Monday, January 9  9,505  0:03:21
 0:02:18
 Tuesday, January 10  9,737  0:04:34
 0:03:06
 Wednesday, January 11  9,331  0:03:20
 0:00:34
 Thursday, January 12  10,397  0:06:54  0:02:22
 Friday, January 13  12,575  0:04:13
 0:01:46
 Saturday, January 14  15,641  0:04:48
 0:05:13
 Sunday, January 15  15,053  0:02:25
 0:03:35
 Monday, January 16  10,876  0:01:25
 0:04:18
 Tuesday, January 17  10,867  0:01:19  0:01:22
 Wednesday, January 18  11,200  0:01:02  0:02:49
 Thursday, January 19  12,046  0:06:43
 0:06:23
 Friday, January 20  16,046  0:02:08
 0:05:15
 Saturday, January 21  19,933  0:02:14
 0:03:44
 Sunday, January 22  17,136  0:02:31
 0:05:35
 Monday, January 23  11,135  0:03:05
 0:02:41
 Tuesday, January 24  11,470  0:01:16
 0:03:07
 Wednesday, January 25  11,866  0:00:50
 0:05:31
 Thursday, January 26  12,681  0:01:28
 0:00:37
 Friday, January 27  15,425  0:03:05
 0:01:41
 Saturday, January 28  20,585  0:05:17
 0:02:16
 Sunday, January 29  18,373  No Data
 No Data
 Monday, January 30  12,133  No Data
 No Data
 Tuesday, January 31  11,624  No Data
 No Data

Vehicles Per Day: The vehicle per day count is the number of vehicles entering and exiting the townsite via Norquay Road and Banff Avenue over a 24 hour period.

Max Delay: The difference between the maximum travel time of the day and the typical travel time during an off-peak period. It’s the maximum additional travel time it took for vehicular traffic to travel the route compared to the typical off-peak travel time. (The average travel time from a low volume day -- January 20, 2016 -- is used to represent the typical travel time). 

Northbound: Based on vehicular traffic between The Rimrock Resort Hotel and Buffalo Street.
Southbound: Based on vehicular traffic between Buffalo Street and The Rimrock Resort Hotel.